The California Digital Learning Integration and Standards Guidance was developed with contributions from statewide stakeholders, including educators, content experts, professional associations, educational organizations, parents/caregivers, and students. We gratefully acknowledge the efforts of the individuals and entities below.

Lead Agency: Sacramento County Office of Education

  • David W. Gordon, Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools
  • Nancy Herota, Ed.D., Deputy Superintendent
  • Connie Lee, Director, Strategic Projects
  • John Fleischman, Assistant Superintendent, Technology Services (retired)

Lead Organizations:

  • International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
    • Richard Culatta, Chief Executive Officer
    • Ji Soo Song, Senior Policy Advisor
  • EdSurge Solutions Studio
  • Computer-Using Educators (CUE)
  • California Department of Education
    • Shanine Coats, Director, Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources Division
    • Mike Torres, Ed.D., Administrator, Instructional Resources Unit
    • Letty Kraus, Education Programs Consultant, Curriculum Frameworks Unit


  • Jo Boaler, Ph.D., Stanford University
  • Nancy Brynelson, California State University Chancellor’s Office (retired)
  • Douglas Fisher, Ph.D., San Diego State University
  • Nancy Frey, Ph.D., San Diego State University
  • Kathryn Kennedy, Ph.D., International Society for Technology in Education
  • Lorea Martínez, Ph.D., HEART in Mind Consulting and Columbia University
  • Cathy Williams, Stanford University
  • Hallie Yopp Slowik, Ph.D., California State University, Fullerton


  • Maria Santos, M.A., WestEd (retired)

Distance Learning Advisory Committee Members:

  • Ellen Barger, Santa Barbara County Office of Education
  • Kyndall Brown, Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles
  • Deborah Costa-Hernandez, Ed.D., University of California at San Diego
  • Tim Dewar, Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Jack Dieckmann, Stanford University
  • Lucy Pearson Edwards, Napa County Office of Education
  • Jeff Freitas, California Federation of Teachers
  • Alix Gallagher, Ph.D., Policy Analysis for California Education
  • Lisa Gilbert, Ed.D., Kern County Office of Education
  • Pam Gildersleeve-Hernandez, Computer-Using Educators
  • Sherry Griffith, California Parent Teachers Association
  • Martha Hernandez, Californians Together
  • Joseph Lamb, Tulare County Office of Education
  • Lauren Lemons Odell, Ed.D., Modesto City Schools
  • Brian Lindaman, Ph.D., California State University at Chico
  • Jeanette Montaño, Imperial County Office of Education
  • Jill Morton, El Dorado County Office of Education
  • Thuan Nguyen, Advancement Via Individual Determination
  • Sonal Patel, San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools
  • Gina Plate, California Charter Schools Association 
  • Jeanette Rodriguez-Chien Ed.D., San Diego County Office of Education
  • Rachel Ruffalo, The Education Trust-West
  • Norma Sanchez, Ed.D., California Teachers Association
  • Sheryl Sisil, Madera Unified School District
  • Russell Warden, California Teachers Association

We extend a special appreciation to Californians for Justice and Families in Schools for extending outreach to youth and parents/caregivers for stakeholder input sessions.

Note: The names, titles, and affiliations of the individuals listed in these acknowledgements were current at the time of publication.